Jacqui’s story

Footprints 30 Year Anniversary story on Jacqui featuring the value COMPASSIONATE
Back to the hub


My name is Jacqueline (Jacqui) and I’m 22 years old. I live with my parents and our cat Chrissy — she is the princess of the house! Growing up my family moved between Inverell and Rockhampton before coming to Brisbane. I am a proud Christian, and my faith is very important to me.

When we moved to Brisbane, my first two disability support providers struggled to find me any type of work, so I changed providers and met Stella. Stella found me volunteer work with Footprints and the experience that I have gained has helped me land my first job, which I start in July.

When I started at Footprints, I first met Lyn, who was the Volunteer Coordinator. She is incredibly caring, supportive and compassionate. We have a strong connection, we’re both characters and share so many laughs!

In fact, all of the staff at Footprints have been welcoming, supportive, encouraging, and compassionate. Since volunteering, I have helped scan documents and upload files, been out on client food deliveries and helped set up for social support group activities. I love talking to clients and seeing how their day is going, especially since COVID left many of them feeling isolated. The clients are very joyful and thankful for the compassion that is shown to them, and they give it back in return — it flows everywhere.

I love coming to Footprints and going home to tell my family about my day. They are proud of me, and the work I do at Footprints.

If you have a disability and want to volunteer, this is the place to come. They will welcome you with open arms — it’s like one big loving family.

Download a pdf version of Jacqui’s story.



Recent Articles

Care finder hub banner

Care finder program has launched to support older Australians

Footprints 2023 Art Exhibition invite banner
Events, News

Footprints 2023 Art Exhibition and Silent Auction